Every state has its own laws and guidelines when it comes to divorce. Michigan residents have access to a particular law that residents in many other states do not have. In this state, a person has a no fault option, even in cases of a high asset divorce: filing as no fault is often one of the easiest and swiftest means to achieve an agreeable settlement.
This might be the way to go if a spouse doesn’t want to file a particular claim against the other party involved. In fact, so long as the listed reason is acceptable to the court by current guidelines, such as saying a relationship endured an irretrievable breakdown, there’s no need to go into further detail regarding a particular incident or wrongdoing a spouse may have committed. Many say that achieving amicable child custody agreements is also easier in a no fault divorce.
In order to file for divorce in this state, the person filing must have resided here for at least 180 days before filing. One spouse must also have been living in the particular county where divorce papers are filed for at least 10 days prior to filing. While there are extenuating circumstances that may lift this restriction, in most cases, this requirement must be fulfilled in order for a particular court to process a divorce.
An experienced family law attorney is a valuable resource for anyone going through a high asset divorce in Michigan, whether grounds are listed as no fault or not. Protecting one’s financial interests and parental rights is often easier when acting alongside experienced representation. This way, the attorney on hand can take immediate action if a spouse tries to undermine the value of a settlement to which a client is entitled or some other obstacle arises in court.
Source: FindLaw, “Michigan Divorce Laws“, Accessed on Aug. 24, 2017